1. Industry
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

DOT Inspections


There are six primary levels of DOT inspections. These may be conducted anywhere by a qualified DOT inspector or state police officer.

Level 1 – North American Standard Inspection

Man standing by lorry using walkie-talkie
Alistair Berg/Digital Vision/Getty Images

Examination of:

  • Driver's License
  • Driver's Daily Log
  • Driver and Vehicle Inspection Report
  • Coupling devices
  • Medical card
  • Seat belt
  • Brakes
  • Exhaust system
  • Frame
  • Fuel system
  • Turn signals
  • Brake lamps
  • Tail lamps
  • Headlamps
  • Lamps on projecting loads
  • Safe loading
  • Steering mechanism
  • Suspension
  • Tires
  • Trailer bodies
  • Wheels and rims
  • Windshield wipers
  • Hazmat requirements

Level II – Walk-Around Driver and Vehicle Inspection

Examination of:

  • Everything in Level I that does not involve physically getting under the vehicle

Level III – Driver-Only Inspection

Examination of:

  • Driver’s License
  • Medical card
  • Driver’s daily log
  • Seat belt
  • Driver and Vehicle Inspection Report
  • Hazmat requirements

Level IV – Special Inspections

  • One time inspection of a specific item

Level V – Vehicle-Only Inspection

Examination of:

  • Everything in Level I regarding just the vehicle without a driver present

Level VI – Enhanced NAS Inspection for Radioactive Shipments

  • Inspect for radiological shipments
  • Inspection procedures
  • Enhancements to Level I
  • Radiological requirements
  • Enhanced out of service criteria
  1. About.com
  2. Industry
  3. Freight & Trucking
  4. Resources
  5. What to Expect During a DOT Inspection

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.